Someone I Once Met: The Italian Stallion

This is Stefano. I met him in La Paz, Bolivia’s capital and the highest one in the World. He is an Italian who speaks perfect English- weird. It turned out that him and I had been living in the same neighbourhood in Santiago but never met. He was blogging all the way up the west coast of America – From Chile to Canada. Stefano’s wicked sense of humour is clever and captivating and is just what I expect from a writer. He blogs in Italian but when I chuck his posts into Google Translate I am able to get a gist of his writing style. Taking an ordinary scenario and making it an enjoyable read is a talent and he has it. We met again in Peru and the day before I took my 36 hour bus journey back to Chile he gave me something- the Lonely Planet’s Guide to Travel Writing. As I read it on the bus I had to laugh at the notes I found in the margins. “What is your niche?” the book asks.

“Surfing, partying and chicks.”

He has since been asked to write a book about his travels. I look forward to tracking his success.

Stefano plays table tennis at our hostel in Cusco, Peru.

Stefano plays table tennis at our hostel in Cusco, Peru.

Here’s the blog he kept. Go ahead, Google-Translate-read-it: www.panamericano.it

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

