Someone I Once Met: Made in Japan

Yuka is a Japanese girl I met at a party in Chile (it would seem I meet a lot of people at places where one drinks). She is the smiliest person you’ve ever come across- not many people smile and laugh as much as Yuka does. She had followed her American boyfriend over after they met as teacher-student in Japan. We saw each other a number of times after our first meeting, once bumping into one another in the busy business district of Santiago.

As it turned out, her relationship took a turn for the worst- him not coming home after nights out (she’s not a partier) and being generally blind to her acts of dedication (like packing him cooked lunches every day). She stuck it out for longer than she should have but eventually decided enough was enough, packed up and moved out. She had to rely on the kindness of new friends to take her in- she had nowhere to go.

IMG_0969

She came over to visit me and spoke openly about his taking advantage of things- while still laughing and smiling. But I could imagine the hurt behind it all. She had moved halfway across the world for him and then this. She hinted at possibly going back to him because of the obvious apologetic behaviour he showed post break-up. But I encouraged her to, basically, not be stupid.

Yuka has a sugar addiction- I’m sure of it. She doesn’t drink but man oh man does she like sweets. I get a lot of joy out of her Facebook postings about her latest and greatest desert or sweet find. A scroll through her uploads shows a long line of photographs of delicious looking treats that she can’t stay away from. Each photo accompanied by a long write up about when, with whom, the whole thing. The best part is her broken written-English . I have to copy and paste an example so you too can share in the joy she so easily feels.Yuka

“What a lovely surprise! Got a box include lovely card from my sweet girl, Fumi chan♡!!!!!she just sent to my house….Lovely pink box and Macaron flavor tea!!!!!it’s perfect one for me!!!!!!!I’m so happy….She knows about me well♡ Another day, I also got birthday gift what is so lovely tea set from Maki chan♡ That’s why fumi chan’s gift was tea! So lovely! I can use both at the same time and I can feel both of my lovely ladies!!!!”

Since Yuka’s Emancipation from the American boy she has continued (thanks to her strong currency conversion I believe) to hop from country to country on her own. Raving, as she does with the sweets, about each place, person and event she experiences. In that oh so cute writing style of hers.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

