My New Camera and Me

It’s been roughly two years since I last owned an SLR camera. I didn’t have mine for long before I drowned it in sprite and made the decision to replace it with the more compact Canon G12. My thinking behind this was that I would take way more photos with a camera that I could put in my handbag.

My little compact SLR has served me well- give or take- but there are certain things that it’s not, and at the end of the day, it’s not the kind of camera I need to be shooting with if I have any intention on improving my photography skills.

It’s always more of a dream than a reality- buying a camera. And even then, it’s not something I fantasise about because I know myself and big, expensive possessions are not my thing. I can’t seem to look after my belongings properly and I can’t even blame it on my lifestyle, it’s just me. So a couple days ago when I found myself in the right place at the right time I made a (fairly) impulse buy and the fantastic Orms Direct in Cape Town.

IMG_3462

Trying out my new toy in the evening light- using the fixed 50 mm lens. Perfect for low light shooting. Photograph taken by Sian Cohen.

My friend and host while in Cape Town, Sian, was going there anyway to replace one of her lenses. On top of that, someone else had suggested I visit this fantastic camera shop while I was in the Mother City. Next thing I knew I was doing a little research on what I wanted and could afford. Less than 24 hours later I was the proud owner of a new Canon EOS 650D, three lenses, a tripod, two SD cards and a great camera bag. Gotta love package deals.

I realised it was time for an upgrade on my first day in Cape Town when Sian put her camera in my hands and encouraged me to shoot with it. We were heading into town to be tourists with two Brazilians. Taking photos left right and centre- I realised how much I had missed actually looking through a view finder. That’s just not the vibe of the g12 point and shoot- the view finder on it is, quite frankly, a joke.

IMG_9482

So long to framing shots through a screen.

The rapid shutter speed is also something I’ve missed- the amount of great shots I didn’t get all because for two years I’ve been pressing a button and having the photo take a spilt-second later. Now it’s instantaneous. Here’s to many more, better executed, ‘in the moment’ shots which are arguably my favourite. I’m a big fan of shooting people going about their lives, whether they’re aware of it or not.

IMG_3264

Having fun driving around Cape Town, loving the shutter speed and ability to capture rapidly.

In my experience people aren’t really too fussed about having their photograph taken. If they’re not comfortable with it they’re probably a criminal. Just flash them a smile and maybe a thumbs up afterwards, just to say thanks. Obviously it all depends on the person and the situation but there’s hardly ever a time where I’ve needed to verbally ask someone if I can take their picture. At most I’ll use eye contact and body language. Others may feel differently about the lines this kind of photography crosses, but my journalistically trained brain reminds me that if its in a public space its photographable.

I feel good about my new toy and furthering my skills with it. Stick around to see what (and if) I can do.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “My New Camera and Me

  1. Pieta says:

    Congratulations!!

    I’ve bought the exact same bundle just before Christmas, also at Orms in Roeland str! I must add that although I did not visit the store with my initial purchase the level of service received from the staff was outstanding. So much so that I visited them again in January and bought another Compact for Mom in Law, now after visiting the shop, I’m hooked!!!

    Do enjoy! Great product backed by great service! 🙂

    Regards

  2. Have faith Girl, you sound like you have got the bug!! No (and If). As if!! there is no if needed in your sentence. 🙂 Enjoy the mother city and all it has to offer.

  3. Good day! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

